Topic 2: Reflection

It’s clear from reading everybody’s blogs and comments on the issue of multiple identities that it is difficult to come up with a clear answer. There are some convincing arguments for such as employment reasons or verifiability and some persuasive arguments against such as anonymity and personal freedom.

However it’s clear to see that all of these points have 2 sides to them that one person may see as a positive and others may see as a negative. An example could be anonymity as people with mental health problems can use this to avoid stigma and others could use it to hide their identities while bullying others.

The comments posted on my blog from Shriya and Agnieszka added further depth and understanding for me about my topic as I hadn’t thought about it from their views.

My comment on Michele’s post made me think back to what social media is about, fun, and how we’re moving away from that. Similarly my comment on Clayton’s blog made me question the motivation behind one of the main advocates of a single identity Mark Zuckerberg and how it’s not all it seems.

Leave a comment